The Wake - Testament (Best Of) (Ltd LP+CD)

The Wake - Testament (Best Of) (Ltd LP+CD)
The Wake - Testament (Best Of) (Ltd LP+CD)
Format: Vinyl (LP+CD) 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): Factory Benelux (FBN 95)
Special Attributes: LP is limited to 500 & includes a bonus 21-track CD with demos and live recordings. (Unsealed)
Release Date: 09/2014
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

"Factory Benelux presents Testament, a comprehensive ‘best of’ collection by influential Scottish group The Wake, including tracks recorded for cult labels Factory and Sarah Records..." (

"Starting off labouring in the long shadow of New Order, Scottish band The Wake managed to carve out a nice niche for themselves by always evolving, but remaining true to their core sound. Their time on Factory yielded some very good post-punk and synth pop singles and albums, most notably the wonderful O Pamela and Talk Abut the Past, which beats New Order at their own game. From there, they moved to Sarah Records for a string of solid singles and albums that showcased their simplified songcraft and spiky lyrics. After shutting down in 1995 when Sarah did, they hooked up with Bobby Wratten of The Field Mice to form The Occasional Keepers, before returning under the Wake name in 2009 to play some shows, then release an unsurprisingly strong new album in 2012. Testament spans their career, picking their best tracks from each era and even dishing out a late-period unreleased gem (Clouds Disco). The selection is heavy on the Factory years, since that's the period they are best known for, with a nice mix of singles and albums tracks..." (Read more:

Track List

Testament (Best Of) LP

A1 On Our Honeymoon
A2 Favour
A3 Something Outside
A4 Talk About The Past
A5 O Pamela

B1 Melancholy Man
B2 Of The Matter
B3 Pale Spectre (7" Edit)
B4 Crush The Flowers
B5 Methodist

Lost Recordings 1981-83 CD

01 Move With The Times (Demo)
02 Communion (Demo)
03 No More Green Space (Demo)
04 Move With The Times (Reprise) (Demo)
05 Move With The Times (Live)
06 Old Home (Live)
07 Communion (Live)
08 No More Green Space (Live)
09 Patrol (Live)
10 Give Up (Live)
11 Careering (Live)
12 Favour (Live)
13 Cold Home (Live)
14 Forced To Think (Live)
15 Patrol (Live)
16 Give Up (Live)
17 Move With The Times (Live)
18 An Immaculate Conception (Live)
19 Chance (Demo)
20 Judas (Demo)
21 Company (Live)

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.

Category: Dark & Post Punk - View All Titles from: Factory Benelux
View all category Titles of the Label: Factory Benelux