Mick Ness ‎- The Joy Of Pop (10")

Mick Ness ‎- The Joy Of Pop (10")
Mick Ness ‎- The Joy Of Pop (10")
Format: Vinyl (10") 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): Out Of Print Records (OOP013LP)
Special Attributes: 10" black vinyl with amazing artwork , inner sleeve , bonus cd including all album track from the original release 'Leave me your ears' (Torso Records 1981) , remastered from the original tapes.
Release Date: 08/2014
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

"...How has this stuff not seen the light of day for 30+ years?..." (

"...The Joy of Pop reveals itself to be an absolute gem. Walk on Heads is a deranged track and immediately puts your weirdometer at ease; mixing Pop Group against chamber folk, (or chamber punk) with a dash of Kid Strange and early Cure for good measure. Mick Ness's strangulated vocals and odd phrasing techniques work really well here; it's incredibly sleazy throughout, and the funky, raggety looseness of the sound (as also noticed in Burn Me Out Again and Ants) really works a treat. Ness's vocals are a puzzle mind, you're never sure when he's going to turn up in the song, and it does sound like he's sneaked in to wreck his own recording by dicking about. This attitude really makes the difference to the record though; in that it has a puckish element that also keeps the sound evergreen. Listen to Remind Of here for proof; it could sound bloody annoying but it's somehow really refreshing..." (Read More:

Track List

A1 Open Rooms
A2 Walk On Heads
A3 Burn Me Out Again
A4 Ants
B1 Remind Of
B2 If They Had Missed Me
B3 We Are 'In' Moving
B4 Appointment


1  Open Rooms
2  Walk On Heads
3  Burn Me Out Again
4  Ants
5  Remind Of
6  If They Had Missed Me
7  We Are 'In' Moving
8  Appointment
9  Cathy Is Amusement
10 You In Me
11 Ships Full Of Rain
12 Too Tight

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.

Category: Dark & Post Punk - View All Titles from: Out Of Print
View all category Titles of the Label: Out Of Print