The Birthday Party - Live 81-82 (2xLP)

The Birthday Party - Live 81-82 (2xLP)
The Birthday Party - Live 81-82 (2xLP)
Format: Vinyl (2xLP) 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): 4AD ‎(CAD 9005)
Special Attributes: Double vinyl with a gatefold sleeve and a CD inside.
Release Date: 06/2013
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

"...An essential record, Live 81-82 stiches together tracks from a London date in 1981, a German show in Bremen in 1982 and a ringer cut from a show in Athens, Greece (a version of the Stooges’ ‘Funhouse’ with Jim Thirwell aka. Foetus on sax).Until now Live 81-82 has never been pressed on vinyl..." (

"...Culled from shows in London and Bremen, Live 81-82 – The Birthday Party’s only officially sanctioned, full-length live outing – stands as a vital addendum to the pioneering Aussies’ oeuvre. Initially released on CD in 1999, it only now makes its vinyl debut in a gatefold sleeve with the same 17 tracks included as
a standalone CD.The sound quality’s admirable and, despite The Birthday Party’s reputation for excess, they’re commendably tight throughout. Led by the late Tracy Pew’s bulldozer bass, a feral Zoo Music Girl and a grinding King Ink tower over their studio counterparts, while Nick Cave croons his way through the murderous 6” Gold Blade with a savage intensity.Into the home straight, She’s Hit’s blasted, proto-Bad Seeds blues maps out Cave’s immediate future, but it’s the relentless eight-minute thrash through The Stooges’ Funhouse with Jim ‘Foetus’ Thirlwell riding shotgun on sax that provides a suitably Bacchanalian climax..." (Read more:

Track List

A1 Junkyard
A2 A Dead Song
A3 The Dim Locator
A4 Zoo-Music-Girl
A5 Nick The Stripper

B1 Blast Off!
B2 Release The Bats
B3 Bully Bones
B4 King Ink
B5 (Sometimes) Pleasure Heads Must Burn

C1 Big-Jesus-Trash-Can
C2 Dead Joe
C3 The Friend Catcher
C4 6" Gold Blade
C5 Hamlet (Pow, Pow, Pow)

D1 She's Hit
D2 Fun House

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.