The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request (2xLP)

The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request (2xLP)
The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request (2xLP) The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request (2xLP)
Format: Vinyl (2xLP) 
Availability: Out Of Stock (Contact Us to know when this product will be available again)
Label (Code): A Records (AUK004LP)
Special Attributes: Yellow Vinyl 180g, Gatefold cover
Release Date: 2012
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

Add to Shopping Cart
  Add To Wishlist

"...Travelling through the past, darkly, the Massacre arrives on the other side unscathed; their music is too rich to be merely retro and too knowing to be merely slavish -- the Stones themselves haven't made a record this strong or entertaining in years." (

Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request is the second in the trilogy of classic Neo-Psychedelic albums released by the Brian Jonestown Massacre, the first being Take It From The Man!, and the last of which is Thank God For Mental Illness. These three albums are really a continuum, a free form follow-on from the last if you will. All recall the high points of the swinging 60's culture, the Rolling Stones, the Small Faces, the Byrds, the Beatles, and even the Doors. Although the influences are worn thinly on Anton's rather baggy sleeves, at no point does their recreation seem forced, unattractive, or ham-fisted in it's delivery. Each track carves out a particular recurrent theme and band to call to mind, and instead of ripping them for all it's worth, they pay a beautiful and honest homage. Anton knows throughout who the real geniuses are here, and although he is a very talented musician and songwriter, it's his heroes who really get the worship here, Ray Davies, Paul McCartney, Jim Morrison, they are the stars of this show. Every track is a spectacular ode to Anton's infamously excellent record collection, as he consciously chooses only the best bands and albums to tastefully borrow from for his 73 minute epic of an album. Perhaps the greatest thing about Satanic Majesties', though, is the fact that it has been produced in such a fantastic way so as to give it an 'of the age' feel. With some tracks being just lo-fi enough so as to convince the more gullible listener that 'this is a lost Rolling Stones track from 1967'. Regardless of his influences, Anton Newcombe manages to breathe life into a genre many had though painfully uncool, unoriginal and perhaps a bit creepy. Though he may bring it kicking and screaming into the 21st century, at least he brings it in to the 21st century at all. We have Anton to thank for that, and even though he may just kick you in the head or swear at you, you secretly know that he loves you really. (Read More

Track List (Listen the album in Full)

A1 All Around You (Intro)        
A2 Cold To The Touch         
A3 Donovan Said         
A4 In India You        

B1 No Come Down     
B2 (Around You) Everywhere        
B3 Jesus     
B4 Before You         
B5 Miss June '75        

C1 Anenome         
C2 Baby (Prepraise)        
C3 Feelers        
C4 Bad Baby        

D1 Cause, I Lover        
D2 (Baby) Love Of My Life        
D3 Slowdown (Fuck Tomorrow)         
D4 Here It Comes        
D5 All Around You (Outro) 

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.