Xiu Xiu ‎- Dear God, I Hate Myself

Xiu Xiu ‎- Dear God, I Hate Myself
Xiu Xiu ‎- Dear God, I Hate Myself
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: Out Of Stock (Contact Us to know when this product will be available again)
Label (Code): Kill Rock Stars ‎(KRS503)
Special Attributes: Comes with a sticker and a code for one mp3 download of the entire album from the Kill Rock Stars website.
Release Date: 02/2010
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

Add to Shopping Cart
  Add To Wishlist

"...Referencing everything from OMD’s Dazzle Ships (on the Speak-&-Spell-esque “Apple For A Brain”) to Tears For Fears’ The Hurting (on the digital-acoustic “Gray Death”), Stewart and Seo have twisted an admittedly dated retro-synth chic into something far more evocative and, yes, progressive..." (

"...There is plenty of good music to be found on Xiu Xiu’s seventh studio album. Featuring the addition of new band member Angela Seo and frequent contributions by producer/Deerhoof member Greg Saunier, Dear God, I Hate Myself is based on pulsing rhythms and glitchy electronic textures that Xiu Xiu uses as a foundation from which to stage its tuneful melodramas. Keeping with Xiu Xiu’s equally arty/tweeish bent, four of the songs, including the title track, are primarily performed on a Nintendo DS gaming system. Despite the emphasis on this and other devices, the electronics are largely used as jarring noise to enhance the arrangements instead of carrying the hooks..." (Read more:

Track List

A1 Gray Death    
A2 Chocolate Makes You Happy    
A3 Apple For A Brain    
A4 House Sparrow    
A5 Hyunhye's Theme    
A6 Dear God, I Hate Myself    

B1 Secret Motel    
B2 Falkland Rd.    
B3 The Fabrizio Palumbo Retaliation    
B4 Cumberland Gap    
B5 This Too Shall Pass Away (For Freddy)    
B6 Impossible Feeling

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.

Category: Alternative & Indie - View All Titles from: Kill Rock Stars
View all category Titles of the Label: Kill Rock Stars