Kid Congo & The Pink Monkey Birds ‎- Gorilla Rose

Kid Congo & The Pink Monkey Birds ‎- Gorilla Rose
Kid Congo & The Pink Monkey Birds ‎- Gorilla Rose
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): In The Red Recordings‎ (ITR-207)
Special Attributes: Lettering on the LP jacket is raised/silk-screened. LP comes with an MP3 download code.
Release Date: 2011
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

“...And while Gorilla Rose isn’t exactly Ziggy Stardust (nor does it aim for that level of pomp and circumstance), it’s a brilliant rawk album, the likes of which hardly ever comes around these days...” (

"...For mere mortals, such a monumental task would prove impossible but this is Kid Congo Powers we're talking about here and Gorilla Rose – his third album with The Pink Monkey Birds – sounds as effortless as it is fabulously unrestrained. Anyone familiar with the man born Brian Tristan's work beyond that seminal and unholy trio of bands will know of Powers' knack for aiming at the hips before the head (just check 1989's In The Heat Of The Night EP for the groovy evidence) and so it proves here.What we're talking about here is a party in a jewel case where the punch is spiked with Blue Sunshine LSD and the rim of your margarita has been dipped in MDMA with the whole shindig documented by Roger Corman. As with its predecessor, Dracula Boots, Gorilla Rose is no mere rehash of Nuggets-era ramalama but a collision of styles underpinned by Powers' unique fret wizardry and garbled vocal proclamations..." (Read more:

Track List

A1 Bo Bo Boogaloo   
A2 Goldin Brown    
A3 Bunker Mentality    
A4 At The Ruins Of Others    
A5 Bubble Trouble    
A6 Catsuit Fruit    
A7 Our Other World
B1 Hills Of Pills    
B2 Flypaper    
B3 Injun War Crimes    
B4 Lord Bloodbathington    
B5 Lullaby In Paradise    
B6 Gorilla Rose

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.