Headland - Sound/Track

Headland - Sound/Track
Headland - Sound/Track
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): Headland Records (HL 01)
Special Attributes: 180g Vinyl
Release Date: 10/2013
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

"...echoes of Pink Floyd at their most pastoral, the rustic post-rock of Do Make Say Think, The Beta Band’s understated melodicism – all are subsumed into a spacious, folksy sonic fabric..." (

"...The HEADLAND soundtrack is a collection of 14 musical pieces composed and performed to accompany a collage of super8 footage shot around Lennox Head, NSW in the 1970s. The film gives us an on-the-rocks view of a particular way of surfing and some glimpses of a culture specific to that time and place. Not simply nostalgic, the music is sympathetic to the values and lived memories of small town surf-culture. Rather than describe, the compositions and performances reflect on anecdotal experiences and memories. The recordings act as documents to those reflections. It’s a mixture of hi and lo-fi recording sessions held variously at Skritch’s Borough (Brisbane), Nashuaville (Nashua) and at Uralba (near Ballina) with Steve Law. There are a range of musical touchstones evident including Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid, early JJ Cale, Meddle era Floyd and American Stars and Bars..." (Forte distribution)

Track List (Stream the album in full here)

1 Pulled At 4 Pins    
2 Scrimshaw    
3 The Hum Song    
4 Evermast    
5 Neska Polita    
6 Halftide    
7 Sevenmile    
8 Head-High    
9 Seethrough    
10 If You Want Me    
11 Turtle Heads (Longing)    
12 Swallowtail    
13 The Weight Of Water    
14 Clear Black Morning

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.