Billie Holiday - Strange Fruit (Col.)

Billie Holiday - Strange Fruit (Col.)
Billie Holiday - Strange Fruit (Col.)
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: Out Of Stock (Contact Us to know when this product will be available again)
Label (Code): DOL (DOL765MB)
Special Attributes: Reissue on Purple 180 gr vinyl & die cut sleeve
Release Date: 2016
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

Add to Shopping Cart
  Add To Wishlist

"One of Billie Holiday's most iconic songs is "Strange Fruit," a haunting protest against the inhumanity of racism. When Holiday decided to sing "Strange Fruit," the song reached millions of people. While the lyrics never mention lynching, the metaphor is painfully clear..." (

"16 selections recorded by Billie Holiday for Commodore; four titles from 1939 and the remainder from 1944. Whether it be the searing "Strange Fruit," "Billie's Blues," "Fine and Mellow," or optimistic versions of "I'll Get By" and "On the Sunny Side of the Street," Lady Day's voice is in peak form on these sessions; pianist Eddie Heywood co-stars on the 1944 numbers..." (

Track List

A1 I'll Get By    
A2 My Old Flame    
A3 Embraceable You    
A4 (Billie's Blues) I Love My Man    
A5 I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues    
A6 I Cover The Waterfront    
A7 (I Got A Man Crazy For Me) He's Funny That Way    
A8 Yesterdays    

B1 Strange Fruit    
B2 On The Sunny Side Of The Street    
B3 I'm Yours    
B4 Fine And Mellow    
B5 Lover Come Back To Me    
B6 I'll Be Seeing You    
B7 As Time Goes By    
B8 How Am I To Know

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.