The Jesus And Mary Chain - The Sound Of Speed

The Jesus And Mary Chain - The Sound Of Speed
The Jesus And Mary Chain - The Sound Of Speed
€24.00 €20.00 
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: In Stock
Label (Code): 1972 (if20)
Special Attributes:
Release Date: 02/2013
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

  Add To Wishlist

"...1993’s The Sound of Speed features material that the band was working on around the time of the Automatic and Honey’s Dead releases..." (

"...The Sound of Speed is the second compilation of singles, B-sides and rare tracks from The Jesus and Mary Chain, one of the greatest UK singles bands, and just as essential as its predecessor Barbed Wire Kisses (B-Sides and More) for its quality of songs and degree of variety. It’s arguably just as influential and meaningful to fans, having been released just as a newly amassed alternative nation was sprouting up. Covering the period of 1989 to 1993, The Sound of Speed collects B-sides off classic singles from Automatic and Honey’s Dead. “Snakedriver” oozes classic Jesus and Mary Chain bluesy sleaze, while “Write Record Release Blues” is a knowing knock at the record industry. The album serves up another batch of great covers, including the dirgey take on Leonard Cohen’s “Tower of Song,” the sweet pass at the Temptations’ “My Girl,” the distorted walk through Willie Dixon’s “Little Red Rooster,” the 13th Floor Elevators’ “Reverberation” and the left-field version of Jerry Reed’s Guitarman..." (Read more:

Track List

A1 Snakedriver
A2 Reverence (Radio Mix)
A3 Heat
A4 Teenage Lust (Acoustic Version)
A5 Why'd You Want Me
A6 Don´t Come Down
A7 Guitarman
A8 Something I Can´t Believe

B1 Sometimes
B2 Write Record Release Blues
B3 Shimmer
B4 Penetration    
B5 Tower Of Song
B6 Little Red Rooster
B7 Break Me Down
B8 Lowlife

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.