The Open Mind - The Open Mind

The Open Mind - The Open Mind
The Open Mind - The Open Mind
Format: Vinyl (LP) 
Availability: Out Of Stock (Contact Us to know when this product will be available again)
Label (Code): Sunbeam Records (SBRLP5019)
Special Attributes: Reissue in gatefold cover
Release Date: 2006
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

Add to Shopping Cart
  Add To Wishlist

"...As a defining point of the U.K. psychedelic/progressive rock crossover, the Open Mind's sole album is the perfect specimen..." (

"...With a singing style rooted in the freakbeat era, rather than the operatic tenor screams hard rock ushered in, and acidic duel guitars, heavier than those of a typical psychedelic act, The Open Mind filled the gap between the beginning of one era and the end of another. "Magic Potion" is unarguably their greatest moment. Its monotonous rhythm guitar anticipates the stoner rock of Hawkind while double bass drum fills and doom-laden fuzz guitar ragas combine bombastic rock power with Eastern-influenced psychedelia. Magnificent! "Girl, I'm So Alone" -- a remake of early Open Mind lineup, mod band the Drag Set's "Get out of My Way" -- harks back to a 1967 feel, as do a number of other songs that show the band being not quite as progressive as they intended. However, both the heavier and mod styles work well, but where they fall down is on some rather laborious numbers that just don't take off. Unfortunately, "Magic Potion" is the benchmark that everything they wrote is compared to, and when a song is that good, nothing else measures up. Still, as a whole, this album is a solid product of the time..." (Read more:

Track List (Listen the album in full)

A1 Dear Louise
A2 Try Another Day
A3 Feel The Same Way Too
A4 My Mind Cries
A5 Can't You See
A6 Thor The Thunder God
A7 Magic Potion

B1 Horses And Chariots
B2 Before My Time
B3 Free As The Breeze
B4 Girl I'm So Alone
B5 Soul And My Will
B6 Falling Again
B7 Cast A Spell

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.