VA - After Hours 2 (more nothern soul masters) (2xLP)

VA - After Hours 2 (more nothern soul masters) (2xLP)
VA - After Hours 2 (more nothern soul masters) (2xLP)
Format: Vinyl (2xLP) 
Availability: Out Of Stock (Contact Us to know when this product will be available again)
Label (Code): Warner (5046-62922-1)
Special Attributes: Vinyl is pressed in Germany for main release in the UK
Release Date: 2003
Qty:  Abstraction  Addition

Add to Shopping Cart
  Add To Wishlist

"The second volume in the After Hours series digs so deep into the Warner and Atlantic vaults, it's rediscovering rare grooves so obscure, the labels themselves no doubt forgot their very existence" (

"...It contains a good mix of mainly familiar oldies to the hard core Northern Soul lover. Many go back to the days of The Torch and earlier. Hopefully some younger ears will be in the lucky position to hear these gems for the first time. No unreleased goodies but still a pretty nice collection. Nice to see the Deon Jackson gem getting a re-issue - it was always one of my faves amongst his many great recordings. Linda Jones stunning performance is a great example of the real SOUL that Northern fans have loved for many years. Dance beats are fine but when coupled with a superb vocal the result is perfection. I remember John Peel playing Charles Thomas on Radio One back in the early seventies when he said the "Northern Soul is the only true underground music scene". This is a great value collection with some great pre Wigan Ccasino classics and it is a worthy collection that stands up well..." (Classic Northen Soul,

Track List

A1 The Apollas – Mr Creator     2:36
A2 The Mike Post Coalition – Afternoon Of The Rhino     2:17
A3 Ben E. King – I Can't Break The News To Myself     2:29
A4 Bill Cosby – Lil Ole Man (Uptight-Everything's Alright)     4:10
A5 Linda Jones – Just Can't Live My Life     2:27
A6 The Marvellos – Something's Burning     2:41

B1 Joanie Sommers – Don't Pity Me     2:44
B2 Archie Bell & The Drells – Here I Go Again     2:12
B3 The Marketts –     Stirrin' Up Some Soul     2:20
B4 Vala Reegan & The Valarons – Fireman     2:41
B5 Percy Sledge –     Baby Help Me     2:35
B6 Esther Phillips –     Catch Me I'm Falling     2:16
B7 The Watts 103rd St Rhythm Band – The Joker (On A Trip Through The Jungle)     3:04

C1 Soul Brothers Six – Thank You Baby For Loving Me     2:55
C2 Lorraine Ellison – Got My Baby Back     2:16
C3 Charles Thomas – Man With The Golden Touch     2:31
C4 Barbara Lynn – Take Your Love And Run     2:52
C5 The Embers – Where Did I Go Wrong?     2:19
C6 Deon Jackson – That's What You Do To Me     2:24

D1 Wendy Rene – Bar-B-Q     2:26
D2 Leslie Uggams –     Don't You Even Care     2:02
D3 Mary Wells – Keep Me In Suspense     2:41
D4 Delights Orchestra – King Of The Horse     2:12
D5 Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles – You Forgot How To Love     2:22
D6 Bobby Sheen – Something New To Do     2:30
D7 Stovall Sisters, The – Yes To The Lord     2:10 

There are no reviews for this product.

Write Your Own Reviews

Please login to write review.

Category: Jazz, Ethnic, Soul - View All Titles from: Warner
View all category Titles of the Label: Warner